Home Forums Gardening Questions Growing Cucumbers

Tagged: 

This topic contains 13 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Hayley Hayley 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of AliCat
    AliCat
    Participant

Hi all, its my first year at trying to growing cucumbers so would like to ask for any advice anyone might have on growing them.
    I am growing a mini cucumber variety called Alpha Beth.
    Do they need to be pinched out or trained in any specific way, and what sort of feed do you normally give?
    Any hints or tips would be much appreciated :good:

Profile photo of dixon
    dixon
    Participant

Hi Ali, bill gave me a bit of advice, I used to overwater, just keep the soil damp but water away from the stem. Lashings of water once the fruit starts to form. :good:

Profile photo of dixon
    dixon
    Participant

Hi Ali, bill gave me some advice, I found I was overwatering, just keep the compost damp and water away from the stem, lashings of water once the fruit starts to form. :good:

Profile photo of Jenn
    Jenn
    Participant

Hi Ali. Advice is to pinch out the tip when it gets to the top of the support or when it starts to form fruit so all its energy goes into that although I just let mine scramble usually. I also plant so the base of the stem is on a little mound so the water runs away from the base of the stem. Like Dix says, it’s quite easy to kill them when they are little plantlets by overwatering – when they start fruiting they need more🙂

Profile photo of Jenn
    Jenn
    Participant

Opps…I meant to say I just use seaweed feed or tomato food – whatever I have handy.

Profile photo of AliCat
    AliCat
    Participant

Thank you Dix & Jenn, you have both averted my first disasters of planting the seedlings deeper and watering more than needed :good:

Profile photo of VegVamp
    VegVamp
    Keymaster